Hope Sinks


Chili Chili Chili!
November 4, 2007, 8:34 pm
Filed under: VeganMoFo

I made a good, basic chili for dinner tonight. I used the following:

1 medium onion
3 carrots
4 celery stalks
1/2 zucchini
1 green pepper
4 cups various beans
1 can whole tomatos
chili powder
maple syrup
apple cider vinegar
salt

I’m not as talented at making recipes up as many of my fellow veganmofoers. Many of them are either published cookbook authors or are well on their ways. However, there’s something to be said for being able to make something edible without the benefit of a recipe, and I am happy to say that I can do that.

Veganism forced me to cook more than I had previously as a long-time vegetarian. I had no idea how heavily I relied on certain pre-made ingredients until I couldn’t use them anymore. It was difficult and frustrating at first, and it took me a while to figure out how to make anything with any kind of flavor, but after 4.5 years of cooking vegan, I feel like I can proudly say that I’ve got the hang of it. While I don’t make up too many of my own recipes, the things I do make up tend to be pretty bitchin’. Given Western society’s almost pathological reliance on pre-made ingredients, I’m pleased as punch with my ability to make a palatable and nutritious meal from scratch without a recipe. I’m not Isa Chandra Moskowitz, but I’m no Paula Deen either.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

