Hope Sinks


Hoboing
November 4, 2007, 10:19 am
Filed under: Sundries

I’ve been thinking about it, and I miss community. Yep, community.

I know, I LIVE in a community. I can’t avoid community. I am part of several communities. The thing is, I miss my music, punk rock, DIY community. I’m taking steps to get back into it, but I’m beginning to worry that maybe I’m too old to take it back.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking that I have the month of May off. I finish my final law school exams in April, and then I begin articling in June, so I have the month of May off. I’ve been thinking I might want to spend it train hopping. Well, perhaps not actually jumping on moving trains, but taking the train down the west coast of the United States, sleeping on people’s floors and maybe meeting some new friends. Maybe I’ll even freak out and decide to stay in California as an illegal alien and spend the rest of my days growing hemp and making vegan hemp string or something.

I realize that at my age, this may seem kind of pathetic. It may seem like I’m desperately grasping at a kind of community that maybe I should have gotten my fill of when I was a teenager or maybe 21. The thing is, I don’t think this kind of community has to end, but the more time I spend in law school, the more training I get, the more I feel it slipping away from me. This is all I can think of so far, aside from trying to crash the local revolutionary knitting circle, to get it back.

I’ll write about vegan food later.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Babe. You are not old. And There is nothing pathetic about it, a community isn’t something you out grow. Its something that grows with you, and I don’t think you should ever give it up.

Comment by B.A.D.

jordan,
i live with an anarchist, 40 year old freak–you should see his monkey business. please be assured, that law school will not drive it out of you, i think it’ll just get concentrated out of rebellion and maybe that’s what you’re feeling.

i support your couch hopping. there’s a cool website called couchsurfing.com that might help you in your adventures.

xo
kittee

Comment by kittee




Leave a Reply

