Hope Sinks


Eating Depression
November 5, 2007, 12:15 pm
Filed under: Bad Days, VeganMoFo

Anyone who knows me at all knows that right now, I’m depressed. I recently went through an absolutely horrifying breakup, so for the past week, I’ve had trouble getting much food into me.

One of the things about vegan food is that it’s (supposed to be, anyway) nourishing, healthy, full of vitality and life. There are exceptions, of course (notably the fried “chicken” and “bacon” with “ranch” sandwich I had at Foodswings when I was in New York last month), but largely, one can feel good about eating a vegan meal. This isn’t to say that all vegan food is healthy rabbit food; to the contrary, the stuff I’m talking about has substance, fat, flavour, and spice. so why is it, then, that when we get depressed, we reject that nourishment?

It’s pretty clear to me that what my brain needs right now is nourishment. Dealing with a bout of depression requires energy, both mental and physical, and that requires, well, food. This makes me wonder if the fact that my body is being so screwed up about food right now (as in, it doesn’t want it) means that my body is literally so depressed that it’s trying to die. This, this is a scary and depressing thought, but realizing it made me feel strangely better.

See, the more I fight my body (and probably my mind too, since that’s probably what’s really controlling everything) on this, the better I’m going to feel. Hopefully, VeganMoFo will help give me a bit of a push as well to get good, nourishing food into my body, and this will help me get better. Okay, so it’s not actually eating depression, but by helping me eat, VeganMoFo will help me eat away at that depression. Check back next month – hopefully this will all be a tasty memory.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Vegan food really is good for everything. Hope you get past your bad days.

Something I do when I have a bad spell is keep a list of the things I’m grateful for in my day. Because there are so many small (and big) things that go well, it ends up a pretty long list, which cheers me up.

The human mind has a bit of a tendency to focus on the few things that go wrong. You can forget how much you do enjoy living every day.

Comment by Coppe

Good luck to you. Sometimes when I’m sad and depressed, I _need_ to be sad and depressed for a while, and eat comfort food, and talk to the people I’m comfortable with (my closest family and friends). Then I start trying to smile. Yay for you for recognizing it and trying.

Comment by rani

“… body is literally so depressed that it’s trying to die.” My cat Benji just did this and succeeded, despite the best efforts of several humans. It’s completely awful and heartbreaking (of course).

Also: you have a blog?! Welcome, keep it up, etc, etc. I followed the link from Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk.

Comment by Jason

I went through the same after my break up, which is odd because I normally eat away my problems. Just keep it up and keep trying food, eventually it all gets better.

Comment by B.A.D.




Leave a Reply

