Hope Sinks


Facilities
November 10, 2007, 8:26 am
Filed under: Veganism, VeganMoFo

Okay, I’ve been boring all month. I’ve been eating boring food, and largely doing boring things. Sure, I’ve had pretty good reasons, but I’d still rather be interesting, so I thought I would write about my upcoming move and the significant upgrade in cooking facilities it will bring.

I’m 27, and I’m moving back into the basement suite in my dad’s house for the next six months. I’m in school, and one of my roomates turned out to be a huge asshole, so I decided that paying $500 per month for a room was just not worth it. Yeah, I’m a loser. So what?

One of the upshots to this, however, is that my dad and stepmom just are finishing some major renovations on their kitchen. I’m going to have access to a gas stove, ample counter space, a giant amazing sink, and an abundance of ingredients I can use for free as long as I share the finished product. In short, I am going to get my vegan on but good.

I’m always amazed and impressed by what people (myself included, actually) are able to pull off in tiny, cramped, less-than-ideal kitchens. Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Romero’s Post Punk Kitchen ( http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2339485853386165626 ) is a perfect example. As I recently discovered, New York kitchens are a special kind of tiny, and these ladies are still kicking ass and making amazing food.

Anyway, the point is that I’m not going to be boring about food forever, though maybe in the meantime I’ll try to write something about mall pad thai, anyway.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

