Hope Sinks


Muffin Monday
March 24, 2008, 10:55 am
Filed under: Veganism | Tags: , , , ,

I didn’t realize until quite late last night that I have the day off today. Yeah, I have lots of homework and stuff to catch up on, but having a whole day of unstructured time where I don’t really have to feel guilty because I should be somewhere else (like, in class) is pretty awesome, so to celebrate, I’m cooking. First up: muffins.

I love muffins, but I always make the same kind: banana chocolate chip. They rule, and I’ll post the recipe, which has been perfected after having been made over 50 times, but today, I felt like I should branch out. In the fridge I had some strawberries and frozen saskatoons, so I decided to do a riff on Joanna‘s Very Berry Muffins.

Ingredients
1 3/4 cups all purp. flour
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup ground flax
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup turbinado sugar
1/4 cup applesauce
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp almond extract
1 cup strawberries
1/2 cup saskatoons

Do It!
Chop up strawberries into quarters or sixths depending on size and set aside. Combine dry ingredients (I always add sugar at this stage, though most recipes tell you to combine sugar with the wet ingredients and then add) and mix thoroughly. Combine wet ingredients in a small bowl and add to dry. Mix until mostly combined and then add fruit. Mix until fruit is evenly distributed.

Bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. Watch your muffins to make sure they’re not getting over-cooked on top.

These turned out beautifully. They’re slightly sweet, but the flax and rolled oats keep them from being cloying and grocery-store-ish. They’re also quite low in fat (only 2 tbsp oil) but have a nice crumb and texture with big chunks of fruit.

Later today: pizza with my siblings!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you are so canadian with your saskatoons. i was hoping for a picture, but here i go running to google. i have a flat of strawberries in the fridge, so i might make these manana.

xo
kittee

Comment by kittee

ok, i give up. what’re saskatoons???? wikipedia only referred to the city.

xo
kittee

Comment by kittee

Saskatoons! I had to look them up, too. All I could think of was the song. http://www.hort.purdue.edu/newcrop/proceedings1993/V2-516.html

Comment by BlindTurtle

Dang, these sounds awesome, but I had to look up saskatoons!! Banana chocolate chip recipe, please!

Comment by melisser

I’ve been wanting to make those muffins, yours looks delicious! I’m still not sure what saskatoons are…

Comment by veganhomemade




Leave a Reply

