Hope Sinks


Seitanism

In addition making granola yesterday, I made a double batch of seitan (to be precise, the seitan cutlets in Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero’s Veganomicon). Seitan, to the uninitiated, is often referred to as a meat substitute. It’s made from wheat gluten, water or veggie stock, and oil, with many recipes calling for flavoring elements as well. The ingredients are mixed together and kneaded much like bread dough, and then the resulting gummy dough is then either boiled, baked (either in broth, straight up, or rolled into a log inside tight aluminum foil), or occasionally fried. Basic seitan is high in protein (more than tofu even!) and low in fat and salt.

Now, I’m usually a tofu girl. I love seitan when I can get it pre-prepared at a restaurant (or vegan cheese steak style like in San Francisco), but I often tell myself I don’t have the time to make it from scratch myself. While making a batch of my own seitan is more time consuming than opening up yet another package of tofu, seitan tastes better, has a better texture, and is probably better for me than my regular extra firm. Seitan slices thinner and works better in sandwiches and doesn’t get hard in stews, stroganoffs, and other saucy concoctions, and since I make it myself, I can customize the flavour without dropping an extra $3 for a flavour combo I don’t like anyway.

What am I saying? Seitan is my friend, and it should be yours too.

There are a bunch of great seitan recipes kicking around out there. Isa Moskowitz has posted her basic recipe. Jess over at Get Sconed is just one of the many bloggers who has posted the famous Seitan O’ Greatness recipe invented by a PPKer known (to me, anyway) only as Lachesis. Julie Hasson of Everyday Dish even made up a seitan-based sausage recipe that produces great homemade vegan sausages.

My point, I suppose is that seitan may be a bit more work than slicing into a pack of tofu, but it’s worth it, and I encourage all of you to experiment and find your own favorite uses. As for me, I’m rocking the Vietnamese seitan baguette dip sandwiches from Veganomicon, and I’m stoked.

Hello there

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Ryan is all about seitan, so I find myself making it often. I’ve always make it baked or steamed though!

Comment by melisser




Leave a Reply

