Hope Sinks


Substitutions
May 5, 2008, 6:54 am
Filed under: Cooking, Good Days, Veganism | Tags: ,

Vegans tend to make a lot of substitutions in their cooking. Whether it’s subbing flax goop for eggs or soy for cow, vegans who cook tend to get pretty good at swapping out undesirable elements in exchange for shiny happy good ones. Though I would eventually like to write more in depth on these kinds of subs, today, I’m writing about subbing food/cooking for something else: my husband.

Everyone who reads this likely already knows, but I don’t live with my husband. I’m in the process of immigrating so we can be together, but for now, it’s just me and my basement. Some days are shittier than others, but I’ve found that the worst is when I have time to actually notice that I’m alone. When I’m working or teaching or running off getting accidentally drunk, I’m distracted enough not to get totally depressed and mopey. When I have days off (like I had yesterday – my first real, full day off in months, actually), it’s harder to keep it together. So what do I do? Well, yesterday I watched Veronica Mars, practised, went for a run, and cooked like a crazy person.

Since my last visit to San Francisco to be with the DH, I find I can’t sleep through the night, and exacerbating matters, I can’t sleep in. Yesterday started off at 7:00 am, and first thing I did was get up and make granola. Granola is one of those things that I think people forget how easy and how good it is. It takes well to all kinds of customization and keeps well to boot. My granola tends to be simple, but the recipe I use can be supplemented without really any call for monkeying around with the base mixture. Here it is, Jordan’s Simple Stupid Hippie Granola:

Granola!

Ingredients
1 1/2 cup oats (NOT quick cooking!)
1/3 cup walnuts, pecans, or almonds, roughly chopped
1/4 cup shredded coconut
1/4 – 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
2 – 3 tbsp oil
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1/3 cup dried apricots, chopped

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350. In a clean, dry mixing bowl, combine the oats, nuts, and coconut. Put the mixture on a cookie sheet, spreading it out so it sits evenly on the sheet. Pop it in the oven for 10 minutes and then take it out to mix it around (the danger with this part of the process is that the stuff on top can cook faster than the stuff underneath, and you end up with burnt nuts or oats – gross!). Put the oat mixture back in the oven and bake (making sure nothing on the top layer is getting too toasted) for 15 – 20 minutes, or until you start to smell the nuts toasting and the aroma of the oats. Remove from oven.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the maple syrup, oil, flax, and dried apricots. Add the hot oat mixture, and stir well to combine. If you like your granola warm, eat it now. Otherwise, wait a bit, and it will start to get all clumpy, just like store bought. Store in an airtight container, but not for too long. Granola is easy and quick and best when fresh, so make it often!

Stay tuned for Seitanfest later today!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hope everything works out & we’ll have you over here ASAP! We will smuggle you across the border if we must!

Comment by melisser

Beautiful Granola shot, I love that bowl.
Best of luck with your immigration JP <3.

Comment by B.A.D.




Leave a Reply

