Hope Sinks


Moroccan
June 27, 2008, 9:23 am
Filed under: Veganism | Tags: , , , , , ,

I find myself house sitting this past week (and next week) or so, and I’m really enjoying having a kitchen all to myself. The first 5 days I was pretty slack on feeding myself (I had either a burrito or nachos for pretty much every meal, which is fine with me but boring). Yesterday I had the full day off, so I decided to make the best of it by trying out a new recipe. I’m broke until payday, so I had to find something that wouldn’t require a lot of ingredients I didn’t already have. I just happened to have come across Mark Bittman’s NYT food blog for the first time yesterday, so for dinner, I decided to adapt the recipe of the day from that site: Shrimp in Moroccan-Style Tomato Sauce.

The recipe itself was super simple, so the challenge became finding a good substitute for the shrimp. Now I’ve been vegan over five years and was vegetarian for a good 8 years before that, so I’m pretty good with the cravings (that is, I don’t really get them). I don’t really miss any non-vegan foods, but if you were to grill me, you’d find that the thing I come closest to missing is seafood. I’m a prairie girl, so good seafood was awful hard to come by in my childhood, but I have some pretty fond memories of eating salmon jerky on Vancouver Island and shrimp and clams and things while camping on the coast. I don’t crave this stuff, but because I had such a taste for it when I ate meat, I think I’m pickier about subbing for seafood now that I keep vegan, so I wanted to find a tasty, nice-textured substitute for the shrimp in this recipe. What I ended up with was medium-firm tofu.

It probably sounds overly simple, but what immediately sprung to mind when thinking about the texture of shrimp was this tofu. What I ended up doing was slicing an entire medium block into cubes about 3/4″ and throwing it all in a skillet with some olive oil (maybe 3 tbsp – I didn’t want the tofu to stick and come apart) and 3 cloves of chopped up garlic and about a teaspoon of sea salt. I fried all this up over medium heat for about 15 minutes. I stirred it occasionally, but I tried to keep it so that only really one side of the tofu got browned/firmed up at all.

After the 15 minutes were up, I started on the tomato sauce, which was super easy and really only involved sauteeing the spices and ginger in oil and then adding the tomatoes to simmer for 20 minutes or so and then combining with the “shrimp.” Served over white basmati rice with a lime wedge on the side and cilantro on top, this was an amazing summer meal that I highly recommend you all try. Oh, one quick note on the recipe: Bittman writes in his intro to this recipe that basically, this is normal tomato sauce with the spices changed up. I say why stop at Moroccan? Since this is so easy and cheap, it’s a great one to try with different spice combos and maybe to use to introduce yourself to some new tastes!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sounds fresh and tasty.

Comment by veganhomemade




Leave a Reply

